Westpac Otago Business Awards

Recognising and celebrating excellence, innovation and success of business in Otago.

The Westpac Otago Business Awards is a biennial event - the most recent awards were held on 13 November, 2020. 

Check out the list of finalists and winners here.

Go to the Otago Business Awards Website for more details on the 2020 Business Awards.


The Westpac Otago Business Awards 2020 Gala Dinner was an amazing celebration of the success of businesses big and small from across the region. 
WestpacOtagoBusinessAwards2020 Roaming 215 WestpacOtagoBusinessAwards2020 Roaming 007 WestpacOtagoBusinessAwards2020 Roaming 138
Our theme for the evening was acknowledging the "journeys" of our businesses -
from those starting out, to those that have reached their destination or are travelling a new path. 

Congratulations to our 2020 Supreme Winner Mercy Hospital Dunedin Ltd. 

Visit our Awards Website for details of our other winners.  Thanks to Gravity Events for the beautiful photos of the evening.



18. Supreme Winner Mercy Hospital


The next Otago Business Awards will be held in November 2022.  We welcome any registrations of interest in being a sponsor of this event. 

Email: office@otagochamber.co.nz | Phone: 03 479 0181


Sector Excellence Awards

Excellence in Service – Recognises a business that succeeds through showing consistent dedication to service delivery and demonstrates its commitment to the customer through its service policy, staff training and/or other specific means.

Excellence in Retail – Recognises success and achievement of a business selling goods direct to the end user.

Excellence in Distribution & Logistics – Recognises success and achievement of a business in the distribution and logistics sectors.

Excellence in Primary Industry – Recognises any business involved in the production and processing of primary goods, agri-business, horticulture & forestry sector.

Excellence in Not for Profit – Recognises management excellence in organisations outside the private sector including the “not for profit” sector, schools and local government.

Excellence in Tourism & Hospitality – Recognises success and achievement of a business whose principal activity is in the Tourism sector.

Excellence in Manufacturing & Technology – Recognises excellence in manufacturing, engineering or the use of High-Tech in the manufacturing sector.


Other Awards

Future Business Leader Award Recognises a future business leader for their outstanding contribution within a local organisation and the wider business community. 

Business Personality Award – The City of Dunedin Mayor’s Award for Business Personality.

Westpac Business of the Year – All businesses in the awards are eligible for this category.

Peoples Choice AwardAll public get a chance to vote for this category.

Business Practice Awards

International Business Award – Recognises a business that successfully works within, and captures the benefits of, the global market, demonstrating outstanding international trade achievements, sustainable growth and results.

Emerging Business Award – Recognises a business that has achieved significant business growth during the last one to three years as a result of effective planning and delivery. The business must have started trading after 31 March 2017.

Business Sustainability & Resilience Award – Recognises a business who demonstrates how sustainable practices are embedded into the organisational strategy, vision and operations to deliver sustainable business growth.

Māori Business Award – Recognises a business that successfully incorporates Māori identity and values as part of its business operation, for example logo, branding, on site or mission statement. The business can be from any business category. To enter this award, you must be of Māori descent and have been in business for a minimum of two years.

Innovation Award – Recognises a business that has enhanced its success through innovation – both in thinking and implementing the idea. An innovation can be in a product/service/technology or process.

Business Integrity Award – Recognises a business that goes above and beyond in serving their stakeholders, whether they be customers, employees, suppliers, or the community.

Essential Service Safety Award – Recognises a business that demonstrates excellence in workplace health and safety practices and that has successfully integrated these into its operation. A positive safety culture exists at all levels within the business.


National Partners

Affiliation and Corporate Partners